Jaco, Costa Rica

 

I would use this to get around: Flip-flops. The main part of town is set up along a strip that’s got all manner of shopping, dining and accommodation. The beach along said strip isn’t particularly stunning or spectacular for surfing, but there are a few to the north and south that are worth a visit: However, these ones will require a vehicle. If you’re keen, rent a scooter.

I would stay here: Buddha House, on the main drag. It’s got dorms with shared bathrooms for those on a budget and also private, hotel-style rooms for a few more dollars per night. There is a common kitchen area that’s well equipped with a gas stove and all the fixin’s, as well as a small pool and a few surfboards for rent. The front desk staff are really helpful and friendly, particularly if you need to book shuttles or tours in the vicinity. I also went to a wedding that was held at a resort just on the edge of town called Doce Lunas. It was a beautiful spot with a great open-air restaurant and really sexy pool. Rooms were bigger than some apartments I’ve lived in, although take that with a grain of salt.

I would eat here: Taco Bar. It’s tasty, it’s fresh and they have specials that include beer. Also, Tsunami Sushi Bar was a nice deviation from the usual rice, beans, etc. although, truthfully, I could eat traditional gallo pinto every single day for the rest of my life.

I would drink here: I don’t know, really. Jaco is kind of sketchy, if we’re being honest. There’s a pretty well known and significant issue with prostitution and , consequently, generally sleazy dudes tend to wander the streets with icky looks on their faces once the sun goes down. My recommendation: Keep it safe and simple by picking a hotel or hostel with a good-looking in-house bar.

I would do this: Surf. There are some decent breaks in and around Jaco depending on the season and the swell. The strip is full of rental shops for all your ten-hanging needs. I would also use Jaco as a jumping-off point for a trip to the Nicoya Peninsula. You can get a water taxi to Montezuma for less than $50. It puts you on the peninsula in just over an hour, as opposed to taking the bus, which will eat an entire day of your life and cost almost as much.

I wouldn’t do this: Buy souvenirs without checking the label. I had a handful of “Costa Rican” trinkets and happened to see a sticker on the bottom of one item that gave it away as an import from China. It’s not that I don’t like China. I’m sure it’s a fantastic spot they’ve got over there. But lying is only OK when the alternative will get you fired or killed so don’t waste my time, little wooden frog statue.

One thought on “Jaco, Costa Rica

  1. Pingback: Everything I need to know I learned from my surfboard. « all who wander

feedback, please!

